Spooky to the bone

Now that Halloween is fast approaching, it makes me wonder why we still celebrate it. Although the holiday has origins going back 2,000 years ago from the European and Celtic peoples, I don’t remember as a kid ever being told what it actually meant. Some interesting interpretations of the significance of this dark holiday:

  • Trick or treating was a way for the poor to go door-to-door to wealthy families homes and beg for food. The rich would give the poor “soul cakes” and asked to pray for their dead relatives long since gone.
  • Wearing masks and costumes was thought to ward off evil spirits and demons. Roaming ghosts would be confused by the identities of those wearing them.
  • Halloween is the 2nd biggest commercial holiday of the year.

The last point leads to a more sensible reason why it is still being observed. The tremendous revenue generated from the commercialization to kids through candy, costume, and related media. You can bet that Big Sugar is responsible and will continue to promote for many years to come.

Now wheres my Butterfinger?

4 Responses

  1. You Know Omi, Mitu is terrified of that ghoul at Safeway. I tell her not to look at it, but she just can’t help her self. Personally , I’d rather have kids anxious to get candy than them realizing how dreary and yuckie Halloween really is. It would definetly ruin it if they knew what it really meant.

  2. Hello Omar / Sophie.

    Omar, are you okay? I haven’t heard from you in a while, and your phone goes straight to message. Sophie, is everything alright over there? His phone’s been dead for many days. Thanks.

  3. Hi all

    I’m ok and in Burma now. I will talk to you all when I get back in another week.

  4. Hi Matt,
    I assure you , Omar is ok. He is in Burma with my parents. Are you ok Matt? If you need anything , let me know

Leave a Reply

