No spanking, headbutt ok!

Oops, another reason to leave California? Of course you want to jail parents who are real child abusers, but banning spanking in general? How will it be enforced and what constitutes spanking? Sounds like a real bad idea.

SACRAMENTO – California parents would face jail and a fine for spanking their young children under legislation a San Francisco Bay area lawmaker has promised to introduce next week.

Lieber said her proposal would make spanking, hitting and slapping a child under 4 years old a misdemeanor. Adults could face up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Some Republican lawmakers called the idea ridiculous. But Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger said he may be receptive to it even though he has concerns about how the ban would be enforced.

The governor said he and his wife, Maria Shriver, did not spank their four children and used alternative methods for discipline. For example, Schwarzenegger said they found it more effective to threaten to take away their children’s play time if they didn’t do school work.

Link

Maybe Arnie used other kid friendly methods like forcing them to watch his Terminator movies or even worse.. Kindergarten Cop! That would be enough incentive for any child to be scared out of their pants and go back to their room.

6 Responses

  1. It’s terrible how the government is trying to infringe on parental rights. Parents should have the right to discipline their children in any humane way, and spanking, although painful, is one of them (and it’s not like children are scarred for life for a minor spanking).

  2. I know as a kid that I got my share of spanking that taught me very quickly the consequences of my actions. Spanking in excess is a bad thing and can damage a child psyche and physically. However, the question is why is this law being brought up now? I’m very curious as to what their intentions are and who is really benefiting from this.

  3. That’s very easy for Maria and Arnie to say they used alternative methods instead of spanking, and maybe they did, but I’m sure their Nanny and their many other care takers did most of the spanking and took the time and energy to properly discipline those kids. When Maria says that she takes care of her kids 24 hours a day , 7 days a week..with no help..then she can talk about using other methods. There is a big difference between child abuse and disciplining your child with spanking. It just takes a good parent to know the difference and make the effort to raise your child right. Whether it be spanking or time out, the point is, take the time and make sure your child understands and guide them in the right direction. Lieber and Arnie need to watch their own kids to find out how difficult it really is, and then they will understand that even spanking has its place.

  4. I simply can’t believe that – even putting the spanking itself aside, is taking a parent away from their kid the best solution? Sheesh, I would have grown up without a Mom if this law were around when I was a kid. I agree with you all!

  5. Well, I’m truly happy to see what my children have to say about the spanking they received from us during their growing up years. I’ve always said this and I will say it again. It hurts me more than it hurt you.

  6. Very , Very true Udee. I now finally understand the meaning of that phrase….I hate spanking Robin …and after, I just feel so awful inside that I give her tons of kisses and hugs afterwards, probably more for my benefit. But if I look at the alternative of not spanking , our little dictator would already be trying to rule the world!

Leave a Reply

